a student walking on campus
Apr 27, 2023
NBC Montana

12 Students Receive Montana Student Volunteer Award

By NBC Montana Staff

Twelve student volunteers across Montana were presented the Montana Student Volunteer Award for their dedication to service in their communities.

The award recognizes civically engaged college students across the state and is presented between the Governor's Office of Community Service and Montana Campus Compact campuses.

Recipients of the annual award are students who demonstrate service while pursing a college degree or certificate.

The Governor's Office of Community Service announced the following:

The Montana Student Volunteer Award is presented through a partnership between the Governor’s Office of Community Service and Montana Campus Compact campuses. Honorees of this annual award are college students across the state who demonstrate dedication to service in their communities while pursuing a college degree or certificate.

“Montana’s college students contribute meaningful service that makes a difference in our communities and adds value to their education” says Sarah R. Sadowski, Director of the Governor’s Office of Community Service. “These students are glimmering lights in our bright future, each one is well deserving of a Student Volunteer Award.”

This year, 12 student volunteers across Montana will be recognized by their school during a virtual ceremony on Wednesday, April 26. Additionally, each winner will receive a certificate signed by Governor Gianforte and their college president.

2022 Montana Student Volunteer Award Winners:

  • Aaniiih Nakoda College | Morgan Johnson
  • Carroll College | Alexa Dreyer
  • Flathead Valley Community College | Nadine Kemp
  • Fort Peck Community College | Luane Four Bear
  • Great Falls College MSU | Savana Jensen
  • Miles Community College | Kryton Gackle
  • Montana State University | Allie Hinds
  • Montana State University Billings | Luke Manthey
  • Montana State University Northern | Freeman Voyles
  • Montana Technological University | Johannah Forsberg
  • Salish Kootenai College | Jade Dempsey
  • University of Montana | Sam Sullivan

Nominations for the Montana Student Volunteer Awards open at the beginning of each fall semester and close in December.