Nov 26, 2012

Highlights from FVCC Board of Trustees November Meeting

The Flathead Valley Community College Board of Trustees met November 19 for its regularly scheduled monthly meeting.

3D jewelry design student Deanna Campsall was recognized for winning first place in the student category of the Gemvision Design Symposium International Jewelry Design Contest.  Campsall’s instructor Karen Kolar presented Campsall the $500 award check for her prize-winning wedding ring set design.

Student Government President Anna Wendt reported that 29 students were inducted into the Alpha Iota Pi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa during the international honor society’s fall induction ceremony.  The college’s Recycling Club is collecting clean, gently-used coats and jackets of all sizes for its One Warm Coat drive.  The Service Learning Office is recruiting volunteers to ring the Salvation Army bell at Super Wal-Mart in Kalispell on December 7.

Faculty Senate Vice President Janice Alexander, Ph.D., announced that Office Technology, Business, and Allied Health Brenda Rudolph is serving on the Advisory Committee for Business Programs at School District 5 and specifically, Glacier High School.  Nursing Instructor Dawn Denny’s article, “Undertreatment of Pain in Older Adults:  An Application of Beneficence” was published last week in the November 2012 issue of “Nursing Ethics.”

In action items, the Board approved tenure for Physics Instructor Jim Boger, Theatre Instructor Rich Haptonstall, Paramedicine/Emergency Management Instructor Kris Long, Mathematics Instructor Laura VanDeKop and Biology Instructor Ruth Wrightsman.

The Board approved the second reading of the Tobacco Free Campus Policy.  The policy will become effective July 2013 and will move designated smoking areas to the perimeter of campus.

Director, Financial Aid Cynthia Kiefer presented the fiscal year 2012 financial aid year-end report.  Kiefer reported that the Financial Aid Office is seeing an increase in students completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid and applying for scholarships.  Overall, $14,351,314 in financial assistance was awarded to 2,106 students.  Of the 2,342 degree or certificate-seeking students, 73 percent received some type of financial assistance.
President Jane Karas, Ph.D., recognized Director, Early Childhood Center Laurie Peiffer for receiving the 2012 Montana Association for the Education of Young Children Early Childhood Service Award.  She thanked Peiffer for her leadership in running the center smoothly and for her role in preparing the center’s children for their education beginning in their infant years.

President Karas reported on the recent Chinese delegation visit for the American Association of Community Colleges and the China Education Association for International Education’s Vocational Technical Education Leadership Training Program.  She thanked retired College Counselor George Shryock for coordinating the two-week visit that included multiple activities from campus tours and meetings with the various academic programs to the Kalispell Chamber of Commerce Annual Banquet and meetings with area employers.

President Karas presented an update on the paramedicine program’s accreditation, announcing that the college received very positive comments.  She congratulated Program Director Kris Long for her hard work throughout the process.

President Karas announced that the FVCC Foundation held its annual Scholarship Award Luncheon October 25.  The Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) Community College and Career Training Initiative is moving forward, with the college recently replacing outdated equipment with new state-of-the-art equipment for the computer numerical control (CNC) program.  Construction of the Rebecca Chaney Broussard Center for Nursing and Health Science is on schedule.  The building is expected to be completed in March.

The next regularly scheduled board meeting will take place December 17 at 3:45 p.m.  For more information regarding specific items included in this report or regarding college activities, contact Tara Roth at 756-3912.  For more information on board meetings, contact Monica Settles at 756-3801.