May 1, 2013

FVCC Trustees Vote to Freeze Tuition and Existing Fees for Coming Year

The Flathead Valley Community College Board of Trustees met April 29 for its regularly scheduled monthly meeting.

President Jane Karas recognized engineering student Tanner Morrison for receiving the New Century Scholar Award.  The award, sponsored by the Coca-Cola Foundation and administered by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, recognizes one outstanding community college student from each state.  As the top scoring student from Montana, Morrison was presented with the $2,000 scholarship and award at the Phi Theta Kappa Annual Convention in San Jose, Calif., earlier this month.  Following graduation from FVCC this spring, Morrison will transfer to Montana State University in Bozeman to continue his studies in mechanical engineering.

Trustee candidates Michael Hebert, Mark Holston, Shannon Lund, Day Scovel, and Ursula Wilde introduced themselves to the Board and the audience in attendance.

Student Government Sophomore Senator Robert Putnam announced the college’s Alpha Iota Pi Chapter Phi Theta Kappa will host a Relay for Life May 1 to benefit the American Cancer Society.

Faculty Senate Vice President Laura VanDeKop reported that Physics Associate Professor Jim Boger, Chemistry Assistant Professor Dr. David Long and Mathematics Associate Professor Dr. Don Hickethier accompanied four students to the Montana Space Grant Consortium Symposium at Montana State University in Bozeman April 19.  Engineering students Tanner Morrison and Louis Grisez presented their work on the solar spectrograph being constructed for National Student Solar Spectrograph Competition in May and won the top prize for group presentations, which included a $500 cash award.  Chemistry undergraduate research students Laurel Sugden and Kristi Lundgren presented their research on Zinc-Air batteries.  FVCC represented the only two-year college at the event.

FVCC Logger Sports team captain Austin Styler presented a team update.  The team outscored The University of Montana, University of Idaho and Spokane Community College, securing the top title at its Stumpjumper Days home competition on April 20.  The team also traveled to Missoula for the 74th annual Association of Western Forestry Clubs Conclave where they competed against nine other colleges and universities and took third place.  The team will conclude its season May 11 by performing free demonstrations for the community at 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. at the Family Forestry Expo in Columbia Falls.

Scholars Program students Tanner Morrison, Louis Grisez, Andrew Hart, and John Allen Osborne reported on their recent research presentations at the recent Western Regional Honors Council Annual Conference at Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff, Ariz., and The University of Montana Conference on Undergraduate Research in Missoula.

In action items, the board approved the recommendation presented by President Jane Karas to forego increasing tuition or existing fees for the 2013-2014 academic year.  The board approved a mandatory $45 per semester fee for students taking seven or more credits, which will provide students access to basic health care services through the college’s new student health center that will open this fall.  Students taking four to six credits will have the option to pay the fee to have access to the services.  Karas explained that the $45 fee per semester fee will be possible for the next several years thanks to the gift of an anonymous private donor who wants to help keep basic health services affordable for FVCC students.

The board also approved tenure for Natural Resources Assistant Professor Christina Relyea, Ph.D.  In addition, the board approved the first readings of the travel and transportation, budget system, students and instructional services board policies.

President Karas recognized FVCC criminal justice student Andrew Hart for receiving a Georgetown University Scholarship in the amount of $3,500.  As part of the scholarship, Hart will complete a summer internship with U.S. Senator Jon Tester’s Subcommittee on Homeland Security with an emphasis on federal workforce efficiency.  After graduating from FVCC, he will transfer to Carroll College to continue his studies in political science.  President Karas also acknowledged Psychology Professor Ivan Lorentzen, Ed.D., for earning his doctorate.  In addition, she thanked the local legislators for their support and Governor Bullock for his focus on education.

The next regularly scheduled board meeting will take place May 20 at 3:45 p.m.  For more information regarding specific items included in this report or regarding college activities, contact Tara Roth at 756-3912.  For more information on board meetings, contact Monica Settles at 756-3801.