Orientation Resources

I.  Pre-Semester Preparation

Email and Faculty Portal (CAMS)

Upon completion of the hiring process, you will be issued an FVCC email address*.  Please contact Coleen Baars in Blake Hall 118, 756-3384, cbaars@fvcc.edu.  Coleen will let you know if it is ready to use.

How to access your FVCC email off campus

Important course information is available on the Faculty Portal.  Please contact Coleen Baars for access and questions about the portal.

*Note: Please use your FVCC email address on your syllabus and to correspond with students (rather than gmail, etc.).  Your FVCC email can be forwarded to your other account.  Please let Rick Owens know that you would like your FVCC email forwarded by sending him a request at rowens@fvcc.edu, calling 756-3820, or visiting him in Blake Hall 121.

 

Help Desk

For other computer related issues, contact Julie Stanton in BSS 137, 756-3930, or jstanton@fvcc.edu.

 

Nova Stations

Most classrooms are equipped with Nova stations, which are locked desktop computers attached to projectors.

To obtain a key to the Nova stations, you must first get a library card from the FVCC library (LRC 102).  Once you have a library card, go to Media Services (LRC 117) to be issued a key.  Media Services will show you how to open and operate the Nova station.

 

II.  Planning Your Course

FVCC Syllabus Template

 

Please refer to the FVCC Syllabus Template and include the required sections on your syllabus.  You can save a version of the template to your computer to edit directly or create one of your own style, but you must include the required components.

When your syllabus is complete, please send a copy to Mel Settle at msettle@fvcc.edu.

 

Checklist for the First Day of Class

Please refer to this checklist before classes begin.

Helpful Tips

Helpful tips for the first class session can be found here.

 

Finals Schedule

Please note the day and time of your final exam and include it on your syllabus.  The finals schedule can be found here.

Note that evening classes give their final during the last meeting time of the semester.

 

Grading

Final grades are due by 5pm on the Friday following the final day of the semester.  For Fall 2013, this is Friday, December 20.  Final grades should be submitted using the Faculty Portal.  Contact Coleen Baars for assistance (Blake Hall 118, 756-3384, cbaars@fvcc.edu ).

 

III.  Logistics

Copies

The Copy Room is located in Blake Hall 134, 756-3358.  It is open Monday – Friday 7:30am to 5pm.

You may email your requests to copyroom@fvcc.edu.  Please allow 24 hours for all copy jobs whenever possible.  In your request please include the following information:

  • Date Needed:
  • Time Needed:
  • Part-Time or Full-Time Faculty:
  • Division:
  • Is this a test?
  • # of copies:
  • Front/Back:
  • Collate:
  • Staple:
  • 3-Hole Punch:
  • Any special Instructions:

You may also drop off a copy request in person with a completed copy request form.  Forms are located on the cabinet across from the mail cabinet.

Completed copy requests will be placed in your mail folder, unless it is a test.  Copies of tests will be stored in the Educational Services locked file drawer in the mailroom.  You will receive an email indicating that your request is ready to be picked up.

 

Mailbox

All part-time faculty members have a mail folder in the mail room, Blake Hall 134.  It is important to check your folder regularly, as it is used for communications from the college and often students as well.

 

Offices

The following offices are available for use by adjunct faculty on the Kalispell Campus:

LRC 142, BSS 142, SAT 165, AT 232.  These offices are equipped with combination locks.  Codes are available from Educational Services.

 

Division Chairs

The Division Chairperson is the first point of contact for all faculty questions and concerns.

 

Division Chairs for 2014-2015

Math and Science – Don Hickethier, SAT 146, dhicketh@fvcc.edu, 756-3361

Humanities – Lowell Jaeger, AT 231, ljaeger@fvcc.edu, 756-3907

Health Sciences – Kristina Long , BC 126D, klong@fvcc.edu, 756-3901

Business and Technology – Dawn Rauscher, BSS 105, drausche@fvcc.edu, 756-3861

Social Sciences – Rick Halverson, BSS 129, rhalvers@fvcc.edu, 756-3871

 

In addition, the following staff act as Division Chair for their respective areas:

Career and Technical Education – Pete Wade, OT 108, pwade@fvcc.edu, 756-3968

Nursing – Myrna Ridenour, BC 102A, mridenour@fvcc.edu, 756-3997


Report a problem with this page
Last modified: July 9, 2014