Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa, PTK, is a national scholastic honorary society for two-year colleges. It was established by the presidents of the Missouri Junior Colleges for women in 1918. The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among associate degree students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunity for development of leadership and service; for an intellectual climate to exchange ideas and ideals; for lively fellowship for scholars; and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence. For more information on PTK, please visit their website at .

Our local chapter at Flathead Valley Community College is Alpha Iota Pi. This chapter was established in 1983 – Montana’s first two-year college honor society.
Students who achieve outstanding academic records are eligible for membership; you must have completed 12 semester credits and have a minimum 3.40 GPA. Eligible students can join anytime, but there are fall and spring membership drives and induction ceremonies. The cost to join is a one time membership fee of $65.00.

The 2013-2014 academic year officers are:

President – LaDawna Clawson
Vice President – Annette Bell
Treasurer – Rita Brown
Secretary – Andrea Bulik
Public Relations – Holly Keefe

For more information, contact Faculty Advisor Chris Hanchett at (406) 756-3857; email or Janaya Okerlund at (406) 756-3908; email


Report a problem with this page
Last modified: July 2, 2013